Scenes Maya

Scenes Maya

Table of Contents


Scenes

The Scenes tool will show you all existing scenes of the current task.

In the Maya shelf, click on the Pipeline tab and select Scenes.

image-20250502-085240.png
image-20250128-152932.png

At the top you can see the latest thumbnail, and at the bottom you can load in the “Notes” from ftrack, which refer to the feedback provided to the taks/version.

The middle part is the most important, and it is divided into 3 tabs.

Work Tab

This is the tab you will be using the most, to open and save scenes.

  • When starting fresh, you have to start with pressing Create new version. This creates a new scene with a correct hierarchy for you to start working, with the file and root node named correctly according to the context of your asset. It will load the required assets.

  • Save current with incremented version will save the current open scene with an incremented (highest) version. This will only work if the scene is valid, as in you are working in the scene you want to save and increment and not opening a new one; for the current task (to prevent accidentally saving open scenes to wrong tasks)

You can press Ctrl+S to save your current Maya scene, but NEVER use Maya’s Increment and save (Ctrl+Alt+S). ALWAYS use the Scenes tools' Save current with incremented version!

  • When you already have scenes available the Create new version button will change to Open and save new version. This will open the scene and auto increment to the highest new version. The Open button will just open the selected scene in the current session.

When a file is published, the pipeline automatically creates an incremented working file so normally you don’t have to use the Open and save new version button.

Published Tab

This is the tab you will be using if you would like to start working on a new working version, starting from a published file by pressing the Save as new work version button. For instance, if you have published your version and kept working on it (lets say the scene broke somehow) you can always restart from the clean published file, or from an earlier publish if the needs of a shot changed and the supervisor,.. would like to go back to an earlier published version and try different changes.

Other Tab

This tab will allow you to save an open scene with correct naming to the current task, or to build a scene for the current task if you would have versions already and would like to restart from scratch.

  • Save in current context means force saving an untitled,.. scene to the current task you are working on with correct naming. Use this one with care!

  • Build in current context means creating a scene from scratch. (similar to create new version of the Work Tab, if no versions are present yet)

Notes

To load the “Notes” of a task press the Load / Refresh Notes button.

The notes important to you will be loaded into the tool.