Projects Painter
Table of Contents
- 1 Table of Contents
- 2 Projects
- 2.1 Work Tab
- 2.2 UDIM workflow
- 2.3 Published Tab
- 2.4 Other Tab
- 2.5 Notes
Projects
The Projects tool will show you all existing painter projects of the current task.
To open the tool through the menu, Pipeline > Projects
At the top you can see the latest thumbnail, and at the bottom you can load in the “Notes” from ftrack, which refer to the feedback provided to the taks/version.
The middle part is the most important, and it is divided into 3 tabs.
Work Tab
This is the tab you will be using the most, to open and save projects.
Save current with incremented version will save the current open project with an incremented (highest) version. This will only work if the project is valid for the current task (to prevent accidentally saving open projects to wrong tasks)
When starting fresh, you have to start with pressing Create new version. This will create a correctly named project for you.
When you already have projects available the Create new version button will change to Open and save new version. This will open the project and auto increment to the highest new version. The Open button will just open the selected project in the current session.
When a file is published, the pipeline automatically creates an incremented working file so normally you don’t have to use the Open and save new version button.
UDIM workflow
When you use the Create new version button, you will be prompted which UV workflow to use.
This setup will read the materials assignment coming from the fbx and create a Texture Set for each one of them. SYNK will only publish the lambert1 Texture Set. |
This setup will discard the material setup of the fbx. It will create Texture Sets per UDIM which you can’t cross paint at the same time.
|
Published Tab
This is the tab you will be using if you would like to start working on a new working version, starting from a published file by pressing the Save as new work version button. For instance, if you have published your version and kept working on it (lets say the scene broke somehow) you can always restart from the clean published file, or from an earlier publish if the needs of a shot changed and the supervisor,.. would like to go back to an earlier published version and try different changes.
Other Tab
This tab will allow you to save an open project with correct naming to the current task, or to build a project for the current task if you would have versions already and would like to restart from scratch.
Save in current context means force saving an untitled,.. project to the current task you are working on with correct naming. Use this one with care!
Build in current context means creating a project from scratch. (similar to create new version of the Work Tab, if no versions are present yet)
Notes
To load the “Notes” of a task press the Load / Refresh Notes button.
The notes important to you will be loaded into the tool.